FIPA
  • Français

Programs

Germany2016 • 01:39 • Documentary • Competition
In 2012, the Russian artist Petr Pavlensky attracted international attention sewing his mouth to demonstrate solidarity with the members of Pussy Riot. According to Pavlensky, political artists in Putin's Russia are condemned to silence. Pavlensky’s main aim is to reveal how power turns people into objects. The film shows Petr Pavlensky and his preoccupation with the liberty of the individual confronted by the power of the state.
United Kingdom2015 • 00:08 • Drama • New Talent
In an old factory full of "traps and satanists" Léa, 14 years old, brings Victor in her quest of adventure. Victor seems more frightened than her despite his efforts to hide it. But where Léa goes Victor goes too. Between children and adults games the two teenagers will experience a very special afternoon.
Serbia2015 • 00:16 • Documentary • New Talent
“I fell in love at first sound.” The focus is on blind and visually impaired people who introduce us to their way of life through the help of sound and how sound helps them in their daily lives. It describes their emotions and how they differ from people with sight.
Cuba2015 • 00:22 • Drama • New Talent
Yoemil, a young Cuban, inherits his father’s old Fiat Polski. He pulls out all the stops in restoring it, hoping to revive a father-son relationship that never really existed. In a country where owning a car is a luxury, the old Fiat is a symbol of a new beginning.
Poland2016 • 00:16 • Documentary • New Talent
Lucyna and Krzysztof run a scrap yard on Praska street. Everyday they come across different people, who for various reasons found themselves on the margin of society. When they lean in to the small checkout window, where Lucyna sits, they find something more than payment for the scrap they brought.
Russia2016 • 01:33 • Drama • Competition
After the unexpected departure of his parents, teenager Max discovers that he has a rare gift: he can possess different people and study their minds. Max dives into other people’s conscience, but he has the most pleasant experience when he explores the mentality of beautiful young painter Vera. She teaches Max to see the harmony of nature, and he unveils secrets of the human brain to her. Together they set off on a journey which takes them far beyond the limits of ordinary people’s perceptions.
France2016 • 01:20 • Documentary • French creation
Le Mirail, Toulouse. Crime, rioting, religion, and terrorism: it seems there is no common ground between the different communities of the ghetto. The divisions are widening beyond control. This documentary offers straight talk, rooted in time and trust. It can be direct or abrupt, sometimes even confusing or shocking, but it is essential in forming the first few threads of a dialogue. Only through learning and understanding can we resist the reflex to reject the Other.
Canada2016 • 01:30 • Documentary • Special Screenings
Quebec My Country Mon pays charts the aftermath of Quebec’s Quiet Revolution in the 1960s. This social justice movement unleashed dramatic cultural and political changes that led to the separatist movement, the FLQ terrorist crisis and, ultimately, the exodus of more than 500,000 English-speaking Quebecers. Montreal-born filmmaker John Walker reveals his own complicated relationship with the province in a film brimming with love and longing.
Chile2016 • 00:45 • Series • Competition
In Chile at the end of the 1960s, two young sisters, Ramona and Helga, leave the countryside for the city, fleeing their father’s violence. There, they meet a prostitute named Carmen, who teaches them the basics of survival in this new urban environment. The story of these three women and their solidarity symbolises that of an entire generation, who came to town to build a better future. Episodes 1 and 2 will be screened at Fipa.
Switzerland2016 • 01:24 • Documentary • Special Screenings
Anoosh and Arash are at the centre of Tehran’s underground techno scene. Tired of hiding from the police, and frustrated by their stagnating career, they organize one last manic techno rave in the desert under dangerous circumstances. Back in Tehran, they try their luck selling their illegally made album without permission. When Anoosh is arrested, there seems to be no hope left. But then they receive a phone call from the biggest techno festival in the world.

FIPA
  • English

Programmes

Allemagne2016 • 01:39 • Documentaire de création • Compétition
En 2012, l’artiste russe Piotr Pavlenski a attiré l’attention du monde entier en se cousant la bouche pour montrer sa solidarité avec les membres des Pussy Riot. D’après Pavlenski, les artistes politiques de la Russie de Poutine sont condamnés au silence. Son intention est de révéler comment le pouvoir réduit les gens à l’état d’objets. Ce film témoigne des inquiétudes de Pavlenski pour les libertés individuelles confrontées à la puissance de l’État.
Royaume-Uni2015 • 00:08 • Fiction • Jeune création
Dans une vieille usine désaffectée remplie « de pièges et de satanistes », Léa, 14 ans, entraine Victor dans sa soif d’aventure. Victor semble plus effrayé qu’elle, malgré ses efforts pour le cacher. Mais là où va Léa, Victor va aussi. Entre jeux d’adultes et jeux d’enfants, les deux adolescents vont vivre un après-midi particulier.
Serbie2015 • 00:16 • Documentaire de création • Jeune création
« Je suis tombé amoureux au premier son. » Des personnes non voyantes ou malvoyantes nous font découvrir leur manière de vivre au travers des sons qui les guident dans leur quotidien. Elles décrivent leurs émotions et comment elles diffèrent des personnes voyantes.
Cuba2015 • 00:22 • Fiction • Jeune création
Yoemil, un jeune Cubain, hérite de la vieille Fiat Polski de son père. Il fait des pieds et des mains pour la remettre en état, désireux de faire revivre une relation père-fils qui n'a jamais vraiment existé. Dans un pays où posséder une voiture est un luxe, la vieille Fiat incarne un nouvel avenir.
Pologne2016 • 00:16 • Documentaire de création • Jeune création
Lucyna et Krzysztof tiennent une casse rue Praska. Tous les jours, ils voient passer différentes personnes en situation de marginalité. Lorsqu’ils se penchent vers la petite lucarne du guichet, derrière laquelle Lucyna est assise, ces vendeurs reçoivent plus que de l'argent en échange de leur ferraille.
Russie2016 • 01:33 • Fiction • Compétition
Après le départ imprévu de ses parents, Max, un adolescent, découvre qu’il possède un don très rare : il peut prendre possession des gens et étudier leur esprit. Il plonge dans leur cerveau, mais s’attarde surtout avec plaisir à explorer celui d’une jeune et jolie peintre, Véra. Elle apprendra à Max à voir toute l’harmonie de la nature et, en retour, il lui révélera les secrets de l’esprit humain. Ensemble, ils entament un voyage qui les conduira bien au-delà des frontières des perceptions humaines ordinaires.
France2016 • 01:20 • Documentaire de création • Création française
Toulouse, le Mirail. Délinquance, émeutes, religion et terrorisme, il semblerait que de part et d’autre du ghetto, on ne se comprenne pas. L’écart se creuse inexorablement. Ce documentaire propose une parole authentique, installée dans le temps et la confiance. Parfois direct et abrupt, voire déroutant et choquant, cet échange est nécessaire pour nouer les premiers fils d’un dialogue. Il s’agit d’apprendre à se comprendre pour déjouer la tentation du rejet de l’autre.
Canada2016 • 01:30 • Documentaire de création • Séances spéciales
Quelles ont été les répercussions de la Révolution tranquille québécoise dans les années 1960 ? Ce mouvement pour une plus grande justice sociale généra des changements considérables, culturellement et politiquement, et conduisit à la naissance du séparatisme, au terrorisme du FLQ et, pour finir, à l’exode de plus de 500 000 Québécois anglophones. John Walker, réalisateur né à Montréal, nous dévoile la complexité de sa propre relation avec la « Belle Province » dans un film débordant d’amour et de nostalgie.
Chili2016 • 00:45 • Série • Compétition
Dans le Chili de la fin des années 1960, les jeunes Ramona et Helga, deux sœurs, quittent la campagne, fuyant la violence de leur père, pour émigrer en ville. Elles y font la connaissance d’une prostituée, Carmen, qui leur enseigne les rudiments de la survie dans ce nouvel environnement urbain. L’histoire de ces trois femmes et de leur solidarité symbolise celle d’une génération tout entière, venue en ville dans l'espoir d'un avenir meilleur. Les épisodes 1 et 2 seront projetés au Fipa.
Suisse2016 • 01:24 • Documentaire de création • Séances spéciales
Anoosh et Arash occupent une place de premier plan sur la scène techno underground de Téhéran. Las de se cacher de la police et de voir leur carrière piétiner, ils décident d’organiser une dernière rave party de folie en plein désert pour enregistrer un album. De retour à Téhéran, ils tentent le diable pour produire illégalement le disque, sans aucune autorisation. Lorsqu’Anoosh est arrêté, tout semble perdu. Mais, coup de théâtre, le plus grand festival techno du monde les contacte…