FIPA
  • Français

Programs

Romania2016 • 01:06 • Documentary • European creation
A Mere Breath explores the profound contradictory nature of family love. Both a journey of initiation and a theological parable, the film follows 7 years in the life of the Sicrea family in Romania, capturing, in painterly tableaux of sheer poetry, the trials and tribulations of Dobrin, his wife Lia, and their 3 children. Dobrin is hoping for a miracle that will enable his youngest daughter to get up from her wheelchair and walk.
United Kingdom2014 • 00:18 • Drama • New Talent
Stephen and Isaac are brothers. As kids, their parents bought a farmhouse and renovated it. As teenagers, they couldn't care less—stuck inside playing video games on a hot summer day. Eventually they get bored enough to start to explore the farm—and end up finding the family dog has gone missing.
Poland2015 • 00:07 • Animation • New Talent
A portrait of a father, whose adult children live their own lives far away from him. The director follows his every day routine life at the swimming pool, at work, at home and, first of all, explores his emotions. It's a film about complicated relationships.
Norway2016 • 00:58 • Documentary • European creation
When al Qaida are up against a seemingly impenetrable enemy position in Syria, they send in the Martyrdom Seekers – volunteers who drive a truck or an armoured personnel carrier loaded with tons of explosives towards the enemy and detonate the load. These operations are simply known among the Jihadis by the Arabic word for button: Dugma. In this film, we follow four Martyrdom Seekers in their daily lives waiting for their turn to go on the final mission. But when their times comes, where does their quiet confidence come from?
Austria2016 • 01:06 • Performing Arts • Competition
Johann Strauss’s waltz On the Beautiful Blue Danube is considered Austria’s secret national anthem. First performed 150 years ago in Vienna, this composition from the Strauss’s “waltz factory” became an instant worldwide hit. This film by Eric Schulz looks behind the scenes of the Strauss family’s “waltz factory”. Historic film footage is combined with waltz impressions from Vienna’s Musikverein and an unusual collection of mobile phone selfie-videos from every musician in the orchestra.
Cuba2014 • 00:26 • Documentary • New Talent
In a fumigation centre in Havana, Mayelín, a health inspector has the thankless task of monitoring and penalising tenants in breach of health codes. Besides battling dengue fever, she must cope with a stressful work environment with a demanding supervisor and dissenting employees. She will have to assert her authority if she wants to be respected.
Argentina2015 • 00:17 • Drama • New Talent
After several months of absence and without having clear motivations, an adolescent suddenly appears in a hospital to reunite with the mother of his recently born daughter.
United Kingdom2016 • 01:29 • Documentary • Competition
This documentary is a unique celebration of Queen Elizabeth II's ninety years as she reached her landmark birthday last April. The film-maker John Bridcut was granted exclusive access to the complete collection of Her Majesty’s personal ciné films. He then arranged to film members of the Queen's family watching the footage. Even The Queen herself agreed to take part and discuss the footage – providing an unprecedented insight into her private life.
France2016 • 00:52 • Documentary • French creation
Loïc, aged 15, is afraid of school. Inspired by his childhood innocence, his brother Théo turns the ruins of their neighbourhood into a huge playground. The two boys live in the “12-14”, a tumbledown mining complex in the city of Lens. Their mother Patricia struggles to keep the family together. The film, divided between allegorical representations and portrayals of day-to-day distress, is a reflection on the devastating effects of poverty, and on the loss of faith in the future threatening the children.
France2016 • 01:24 • Reportage and Investigation • Competition
In the mid-1960s some 13 million youth across the globe were enrolled in higher education. In 2015, there were 200 million. In 15 years, there will be 400 million. An enormous consumer market is forming. Around the world, the transmission of knowledge is being commodified. Young people are taking on debt in the pursuit of an education. From Shanghai to New York, Paris to Berlin, universities are becoming gigantic corporations under pressure from global competition… But at what cost… And who stands to gain?

FIPA
  • English

Programmes

Roumanie2016 • 01:06 • Documentaire de création • Création européenne
Une exploration de la nature profondément contradictoire de l’amour familial, à la fois voyage initiatique et parabole théologique. La réalisatrice a suivi les Sicrea pendant 7 ans et capturé, et mis en lumière, dans des tableaux de pure poésie, les épreuves traversées par Dobrin, son épouse Lia et leurs trois enfants. Dobrin espère un miracle qui rendrait à sa plus jeune fille, en fauteuil roulant, l’usage de ses jambes.
Royaume-Uni2014 • 00:18 • Fiction • Jeune création
Stephen et Isaac sont frères. Leurs parents ont acheté et retapé un corps de ferme lorsqu’ils étaient enfants. Aujourd’hui adolescents, ils se soucient peu de cet endroit et tentent d’échapper à une journée d’été caniculaire en jouant à des jeux vidéo. Ils finissent par s’ennuyer et décident d’explorer la ferme jusqu’au moment où ils prennent conscience que leur chien a disparu.
Pologne2015 • 00:07 • Animation • Jeune création
Le portrait d’un père solitaire qui vit loin de ses enfants devenus adultes. Au travers de sa routine quotidienne – à la piscine, au travail, à la maison – le réalisateur explore ses émotions et la difficulté de nouer du lien social.
Norvège2016 • 00:58 • Documentaire de création • Création européenne
En Syrie, lorsqu’Al-Qaïda se heurte à une position ennemie qui semble imprenable des « martyrs » sont envoyés vers l'ennemi, au volant d’un camion ou d’un véhicule blindé truffé de tonnes d’explosifs. Ils appuient alors sur le détonateur. Ils appellent simplement ces opérations « bouton » (dugma en arabe). Nous suivons quatre de ces aspirants au martyre dans leur vie quotidienne, dans l’attente placide qu’arrive leur tour. Mais d'où leur vient à ce moment-là leur tranquille assurance ?
Autriche2016 • 01:06 • Musique et spectacle • Compétition
Le Beau Danube bleu, la fameuse valse de Johann Strauss, est une sorte d’hymne national secret de l’Autriche. Dès sa première interprétation à Vienne, il y a 150 ans, cette composition issue de la fabrique des Strauss est immédiatement devenue un tube international. Entrons dans les coulisses de cette famille grâce à des archives insolites, des instantanés de la scène musicale et une collection de selfies et de vidéos filmées au portable par chacun des musiciens de l’orchestre de Vienne.
Cuba2014 • 00:26 • Documentaire de création • Jeune création
Dans un centre de fumigation de La Havane, Mayelín, inspectrice sanitaire, a la tâche ingrate de contrôler et verbaliser les habitants en infraction avec les normes sanitaires. En plus de lutter contre la dengue, elle doit faire face à un environnement de travail stressant, avec une responsable exigeante et des employés contestataires. Elle devra se faire respecter en faisant preuve d’autorité.
Argentine2015 • 00:17 • Fiction • Jeune création
Après avoir disparu plusieurs mois sans raison, un adolescent réapparait et retrouve la mère de sa fille qui vient de naître à l’hôpital.
Royaume-Uni2016 • 01:29 • Documentaire de création • Compétition
Ce documentaire célèbre de manière exceptionnelle les 90 ans de la reine Élisabeth II, un anniversaire marquant fêté en avril dernier. Le réalisateur John Bridcut a reçu l’autorisation exclusive d’accéder à l’intégralité des films personnels de Sa Majesté. Il a ensuite organisé et filmé une projection d’extraits de ces films avec les membres de la famille royale. La reine elle-même a accepté d’y participer et commente ces images, nous livrant un aperçu sans précédent sur sa vie privée.
France2016 • 00:52 • Documentaire de création • Création française
Loïc, 15 ans, souffre de phobie scolaire. Théo, encore protégé par l’innocence de ses 10 ans, transforme les ruines de son quartier en vaste terrain de jeu. Les deux frères habitent au 12-14, une cité minière délabrée de la ville de Lens. Patricia, leur mère, se bat pour maintenir la cohésion familiale. Le film, entre représentations allégoriques et détresse du quotidien est une réflexion sur les effets dévastateurs de la pauvreté et sur la perte de confiance dans l’avenir qui menace les enfants.
France2016 • 01:24 • Grand reportage et Investigation • Compétition
Dans le monde, les jeunes poursuivant des études supérieures étaient 13 millions au milieu des années 1960. En 2015, ils étaient 200 millions. Dans 15 ans, ils seront 400 millions. Une formidable clientèle se dessine. Partout, la transmission du savoir devient une marchandise. Les jeunes s’endettent pour apprendre. De Shanghaï à New York, de Paris à Berlin, prises au jeu de la compétition mondiale, les universités se transforment en gigantesques entreprises… Mais à quel prix... et au profit de qui ?