FIPA
  • Français

Programs

United Kingdom2016 • 01:00 • Documentary • Special Screenings
12 months ago, the production team gave cameraphones to people attempting to reach Europe to escape war, poverty, or persecution. They were able to film where regular film crews could not go: on inflatable dinghies crossing from Turkey to Greece, the backs of lorries entering the Eurotunnel, on trucks driven by human-smugglers across the Sahara. The result is a terrifyingly intimate yet uniquely epic portrait of the biggest movement of people that Europe has seen since World War Two. Episodes 1, 2 and 3 will be screened at Fipa.
United States2017 • Smart Fipa • Competition
A cross platform episodic documentary series about Flint, Michigan, seeks to document a specific moment within this resilient American city in an intimate, character driven way. While it is not aiming to solve Flint’s issues, it will change our understanding of them. The series cover the water crisis, the Flint police department, history of Flint, and the city’s youth using a variety of media - film, photographs, data, VR. It will launch in spring 2017 as an interactive web documentary.
Sweden, Germany, Switzerland2016 • 01:27 • Performing Arts • Competition
The great musical revolution of today takes place in Africa. In Fonko we meet some of the most outspoken, creative and interesting artists of today that redefines the image of Africa, traveling from Dakar in the west through Accra, Lagos and Luanda to Johannesburg in the south. Throughout the movie we also hear the voice of Fela Kuti, one of the continent's greatest musical icons and political activists. Fela speaks through early recorded interviews.
United States2016 • 01:00 • Performing Arts • Competition
An exploration of how American Rock & Roll music spread like an uncontrollable virus across the Iron Curtain in the last half of the 20th century. The film follows this story, and its key players, as radio pumped Rock & Roll into Eastern Europe and the USSR, while inspiring thousands of underground rock bands and millions of supporters who embraced it as the “sound of freedom”. They sparked a revolution that openly defied the communist governments, while contributing to their collapse.
Germany2016 • 01:29 • Performing Arts • Competition
Zubin Mehta, one of the most charismatic musicians, Chief conductor for life of both the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra and the Orchestra of the Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, is a true world citizen. Bettina Ehrhardt's film follows the Maestro to some of the emblematic places of his life: Israel, Bombay, Berlin, Florence, Munich. A vivid and intimate portrait of an artist beloved by audiences and musicians alike for the warmth he radiates both in his music-making and in his life.
Canada, Germany2016 • 01:26 • Documentary • Special Screenings
Women are members of the PKK (Kurdistan Workers’ Party), which is also a guerrilla organisation. As well as defending Kurdish territory in Iraq and Syria, they are fighting Daesh (the armed group known as Islamic State), while embodying a revolutionary ideal centred around women’s emancipation. The film shows us the thoughts and aspirations of these hardened fighters, including Rojen and Sozdar, while inviting us to share in their private lives.
France2016 • 00:50 • Series • Competition
Vincent Ogier, a 20-year-old Parisian geology student, arrives in Guyana for an internship in a gold mining company. Driven by an acute taste for danger and a boundless penchant for cheek, the young engineer makes the acquaintance of Antoine Serra, the “Godfather of Gold”. Vincent believes he has found a legendary gold vein: a mine that was abandoned 120 years ago—and Serra has the necessary skills to exploit it. In a few short weeks, Vincent goes from intern to adventurer. Episodes 1 and 2 will be screened at Fipa.
Canada2016 • Smart Fipa • Competition
2040: Halcyon, the global leader in the virtual reality industry, wants to market neurological implants that will let the user manipulate their senses… But the project is sent reeling by the sudden murder of the corporation’s CEO. The investigation is headed by Jules Dover, a detective in the Virtual Reality Crimes Unit, and her partner Asha. Halcyon immerses you in the future through 10 short episodes and 5 episodes in virtual reality.
Slovenia, Germany, Croatia2016 • 01:24 • Documentary • Special Screenings
The Cold War, the space race, and NASA’s moon landing are landmark events that defined an era. But they are also fodder for conspiracy theories. In Houston, We Have a Problem! filmmaker Ziga Virc adds new material to the discussion on both fronts. This intriguing docu-fiction explores the myth of the secret multi-billion-dollar deal behind America’s purchase of Yugoslavia’s clandestine space programme in the early 1960s.
Germany, United States2016 • 01:38 • Performing Arts • Competition
Disillusioned producer and composer Ralf Kemper becomes obsessed with the idea of bringing attention to forgotten jazz legend Jimmy Scott. By the time they meet, Scott is 85 years old and in a very poor state of health. Together with many of Scott’s old friends, like Quincy Jones, Joe Pesci, and James Moody, Kemper pursues his dream. He spares no expense and reaches the limits of what can be done to capture Jimmy’s unique voice in a race against time.

FIPA
  • English

Programmes

Royaume-Uni2016 • 01:00 • Documentaire de création • Séances spéciales
Il y a un an, l’équipe de production du film donnait des smartphones à des réfugiés tentant d’atteindre l’Europe pour échapper à la pauvreté, à la guerre ou aux persécutions. Ils ont filmé là où aucun cameraman professionnel ne peut aller : sur des canots gonflables entre la Turquie et la Grèce, à l’arrière de camions entrant dans l’Eurotunnel, ou de voitures de passeurs dans le Sahara. En résulte un portrait unique, terriblement intime, de la plus grande migration qu’ait connue l’Europe depuis la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Les épisodes 1, 2 et 3 seront projetés au Fipa.
États-Unis2017 • Smart Fipa • Compétition
Cette série documentaire multiplateforme met en lumière la ville de Flint (Michigan) en la montrant de façon plus intime, en s’intéressant aux personnalités qui la composent. L’objectif n’est pas de résoudre les problèmes de la ville, mais d'en modifier notre compréhension. La série aborde la crise de l’eau, les services de police de la ville, son histoire, sa jeunesse, en utilisant de nombreux médias : film, photographie, interactivité, exploration des données, VR...
Suède, Allemagne, Suisse2016 • 01:27 • Musique et spectacle • Compétition
La grande révolution musicale actuelle a lieu en Afrique. Ce film nous présente certains des artistes les plus spontanés, créatifs et passionnants d’aujourd’hui qui redessinent l’image de l’Afrique, dans un voyage depuis Dakar, à l’ouest, en passant par Accra, Lagos et Luanda, jusqu’à Johannesburg en Afrique du Sud. Des enregistrements d’époque de Fela Kuti, icône musicale et activiste politique, accompagnent ce périple.
États-Unis2016 • 01:00 • Musique et spectacle • Compétition
Dans la seconde moitié du 20e siècle, le rock 'n' roll américain s’est répandu, tel un virus incontrôlable, derrière le Rideau de fer. Dans ce film, nous revivons cette histoire, en compagnie de ses acteurs principaux, avec la radio émettant continuellement du rock, tant en Europe de l’Est qu’en Union soviétique, inspirant des milliers de groupes et des millions de fans pour qui cette musique représentait la liberté. Une étincelle qui, défiant ouvertement les gouvernements communistes, allait contribuer à leur chute.
Allemagne2016 • 01:29 • Musique et spectacle • Compétition
Zubin Mehta, l’un des musiciens les plus charismatiques de notre temps, directeur musical à vie de l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Israël et de l’orchestre Maggio Musicale Fiorentino, est un véritable citoyen du monde. Le film de Bettina Ehrhardt accompagne le maestro sur les lieux emblématiques de son parcours : Israël, Bombay, Berlin, Florence, Munich. Un portrait intime et vivant de cet artiste chaleureux, aussi apprécié du public que des musiciens.
Canada, Allemagne2016 • 01:26 • Documentaire de création • Séances spéciales
Elles appartiennent au PKK, le Parti des travailleurs du Kurdistan, qui est aussi un mouvement de guérilla. En plus de défendre le territoire kurde en Irak et en Syrie, elles luttent contre Daech (le groupe armé État islamique), tout en incarnant un idéal révolutionnaire axé sur l’émancipation des femmes. Le film nous livre les réflexions et aspirations de ces combattantes aguerries, dont Rojen et Sozdar, tout en nous invitant à partager leur intimité.
France2016 • 00:50 • Série • Compétition
Vincent Ogier, 20 ans, étudiant parisien en géologie, débarque en Guyane pour effectuer un stage dans une société d’exploitation aurifère. Un goût immodéré pour le danger et un culot à toute épreuve vont pousser le jeune ingénieur à s’associer avec le « parrain de l’or », Antoine Serra. Vincent croit avoir trouvé un filon d’or mythique : une mine abandonnée depuis 120 ans... Serra a les compétences requises pour l’exploiter. En quelques semaines, Vincent va passer du statut de stagiaire à celui d’aventurier. Les épisodes 1 et 2 seront projetés au Fipa.
Canada2016 • Smart Fipa • Compétition
2040, Halcyon première entreprise mondiale dans l’industrie de la réalité virtuelle veut commercialiser des implants neurologiques qui permettront de manipuler les sens... Ce projet se voit perturbé par l’assassinat soudain du PDG de la multinationale. Jules Dover, inspectrice à l’Unité des crimes de réalité virtuelle, et sa partenaire Asha mènent l’enquête. Halcyon vous plonge dans le futur à travers 10 épisodes courts et 5 épisodes en réalité virtuelle.
Slovénie, Allemagne, Croatie2016 • 01:24 • Documentaire de création • Séances spéciales
La Guerre froide, la course à l’espace et l’alunissage réussi par la Nasa ont marqué leur époque, mais ils constituent aussi une mine inépuisable de théories conspirationnistes. En réalisant ce film, Ziga Virc apporte de l’eau au moulin des deux camps dans un docu-fiction fascinant qui vient décrypter le mythe de l’achat par les États-Unis du programme spatial yougoslave clandestin pour plusieurs milliards de dollars au début des années 60.
Allemagne, États-Unis2016 • 01:38 • Musique et spectacle • Compétition
Producteur et compositeur Ralf Kemper a une obsession : remettre sur le devant de la scène une légende du jazz complètement oubliée. Quand il le retrouve, Jimmy Scott a 85 ans et est quasiment grabataire. Aidé de ses anciens amis, Quincy Jones, Joe Pesci et James Moody, Kemper veut réaliser son rêve. Il ne reculera devant aucune dépense et mettra tout en œuvre pour enregistrer la voix unique de Scott avant qu'il ne soit trop tard.